Healthy, Wealthy, and Wise

Ok. This post will only help with healthiness. Figure out how to make your own darn money! And clearly I’m not much in the wisdom department.

But! Dinner last night cured G’s cold! Or, nearly. It made him feel better. And it made me feel better too – how could it not, when this lovely soup is so chock full of nutrient rich deliciousness.

Let me show you:

Please forgive my dark or weirdly colored photos. It gets dark at about 2 in the afternoon here (that’s only a minor exaggeration). I’m not a very accomplished photographer, especially in the dark.

Thanks for understanding!

So, the recipe is: Sweet Potato and Kale Soup from Joy the Baker. When I saw this recipe posted on her site, I knew it had to happen in my house. I love kale. A lot. I love soup. A lot. And I like sweet potatoes quite a bit.

So, here goes. I didn’t measure things precisely (another reason to love soup), so I’ll just tell you what I did and what I used. You can go quite wild with soup.

  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1 bunch kale
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • about 3/4 inch of ginger, peeled and minced
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1 quart + a tiny bit of vegetable broth
  • 1/2 a can of coconut milk
  • quinoa

Peel and chop the sweet potatoes, one gigantic and one regular sized, in my case.

Chop up 1 whole onion and cook it in a pot in 2 tablespoons of olive oil.

Once the onion is translucent, add 2 chopped cloves of garlic and a small bit of minced ginger. Stir that around for about a minute, then dump in the turmeric (which is good for inflammation, all you athletes) and cayenne (which is good for clearing the sinuses, all you nose-blowers).

Stir around a bit more, and then add in your sweet potatoes. Cover them with vegetable broth and bring to a simmer. Simmer away until they’re just about tender.

While all that simmering is going on, chop up your kale.

Now that the potatoes are nearly done, stuff your kale into the pot. Work it around as it starts to cook down. I let mine cook about 5 minutes.

Turn off the heat and add the coconut milk, stirring to incorporate. I use light coconut milk, because regular has TONS of fat, and in this case especially, you still get lots of good flavor by using the light stuff.

Grab your homeiest of bowls (you know, the ones with the handles) and dump in some (already cooked) quinoa. The quinoa doesn’t even have to be warm. I took some leftover right out of the fridge and went for it.

Then add your soup to the bowl. Inhale. Smile. Feel warm and healthy. You’re about to give your body some good stuff. Ginger and cayenne are good for colds. Turmeric is good all the time for everything. Sweet potatoes and kale are super nutrient rich. And most importantly, this tastes delightful!

2 thoughts on “Healthy, Wealthy, and Wise

Leave a comment