Run Streak

Don’t worry, no streaking here. It’s too cold.

A few days before Thanksgiving, I saw folks on Instagram posting about the Runner’s World Run Streak, where you challenge yourself to run at least one mile every day from Thanksgiving to New Year’s. I figured I might as well see if I could do it – and while we’re not there yet, so far I’ve run every day.

CaptureIt’s been pretty fun! Even on days I reeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaallllllly don’t want to run, I think “Well, it’s just a mile. That takes under 10 minutes and isn’t enough to make me sweaty so I don’t have to take a shower.” And then I go run!

Most of the time, once I get started I’m happy to do more than just one mile, and wind up doing 3-4. I still might not take a shower though.

And it really keeps me accountable on days I want to work out, but by the time the work day ends and it has been dark for an hour and a half already and all I want to do is open a bottle of wine – nope! Can’t do that yet! Have to get to the gym or brave the “cold”. Though I’ve definitely been heading to the treadmill a lot more than running outside. It’s not so much the cold that puts me off, but the dark. Especially since, in the dark, I don’t really want to try out new routes and wind up running the same boring path again and again. I figure if that’s all I’m going to do, I might as well just do it on a boring treadmill where it’s warm and I can try to run “fast”. Excuses, excuses.

Anyway, we’ll see if I make it to New Year’s. I’m not traveling at all this holiday season (super sad face), and while that’s a bummer, it’ll make it easier for me to keep running.

In other news, Christmas tree!!!

photo

2 thoughts on “Run Streak

Leave a Reply

