Rice Pudding

I’m totally on a cooking streak. What the heck is going on?

Anyway, yesterday afternoon I realized I had a mess of leftover white rice that I’d made earlier in the week. White rice and soy sauce is my favorite easy meal, but as I’ve said before, I’m no good on the leftover front. I also had cream and milk in my fridge, from shortcakes earlier this week – this is also kind of rare, as I don’t eat cereal and don’t take cream in my coffee.

So! Dessert time!

Recipe adapted from the Joy the Baker Cookbook.

  • 2 cups milk
  • 3/4 cup cream
  • 2 cups cooked white rice
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • zest of one lime
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp bourbon
  • 1 tbsp butter

Cook rice, if not using leftover. Then heat milk, cream, sugar, bourbon and cinnamon until sugar is dissolved. Stir in rice and lime zest (orange would be great too, and what the original recipe called for. I just didn’t have an orange.) Stir rice continually for 20-25 minutes, until mixture is thickened. Then stir in butter. Serve warm or cold, topped with more cinnamon, cream, or plain.

20120701-072059.jpg

So good!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

