Seattle Rock and Roll Half Marathon

Time to run another half marathon!

I did this race last year, and really enjoyed it, so I was excited to run it again this year. Once again, I registered for the full marathon and realized I just don’t have it in me to commit to training for a full, so dropped down to the half. I would really like to run a full marathon again, but need to be realistic about the amount of time I’m willing to train for racing. I enjoy running, a lot, but enjoy the level of intensity I need when training for half marathons (so, all the time). The thought of training for a full just kind of stresses me out, and that is really not the point of running, at least not for me. At the same time, I do want to take on new challenges when running, so another full marathon will probably be in the cards at some point.

Anyway, I was a little jittery about the logistics for this race. I had to get downtown early in order to run, and that always stresses me out a little. Probably a good thing – gets the adrenaline up.

I made it to the race start at the Seattle Center with plenty of time, but only had time to wait in line to use the Porta-Potty (so gross) once! This meant I had to stop for a quick pee on the race course, something I’ve never done before. Aren’t you glad you know this about me now? Runners seem to feel ok telling everyone about their bodily functions, but I usually consider that a bit too crass for me.

The race was well organized, the bands were fun, the new course was nice. It was really similar to the Amica Seattle Half, which is fine, since I like that race. Last year I think I was excited by the sheer number of people participating in this race, but this year the crowds drove me a little crazy.

See? Crazy.

It was just kind of an ok race – my time was fine, especially considering I stopped and taking the crowds into account. I had fun, and as usual felt a little “mystical” at the end of the race, but I really just wanted to get out of all the people once I finished.

Time was 1:58:49, a 9:04 pace, with negative splits.

Maybe next year I’ll buckle down for the full race. I guess we will see!

Leave a Reply

