Cabbage Apple Slaw

Slaw maybe not be the most appetizing word.

But you know you love a good picnic coleslaw.

Last week, I made a tangy cold weather version (and wrote about it for Real Time Farms!)

So, now that I leave the house for work, I need meals that are easy to bring for lunches. This means something I can make a lot of and is easy to pack and store in the fridge at work.

Slaw is popular at picnics for this very reason!

What I used:

  • 1/2 a head of red cabbage
  • 1 apple
  • 2-3 tablespoon of champagne vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon sesame seeds
  • 1/3 chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • pinch of sugar
  • salt

Choppity chopped up the cabbage and apples and then just mixed all the sauce ingredients together. As usual, this is just a guideline, rather than a hard a fast recipe. Some raisins would be lovely in here…

Tangy and tasty. The cabbage turns the yogurt a bright lovely purple.

I’m not a big fan of creamy coleslaws, instead preferring a more vinegary flavor. This was perfect for me, and packed up very nicely in my lunch pail.

 

5 thoughts on “Cabbage Apple Slaw

      • Just reporting back that it was really delicious, especially the day after preparation. Thanks for the recipe, cabbage and apple are a great combo. Everytime I passed by red cabbage, I used to feel bad because I should eat that color, but never enjoyed it cooked. No more feeling bad. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment