New Shoes Cure the Running Blues

Oh my heavens, I bought new shoes.

New, same shoes. I’ve really liked my Brooks Ghosts for the past 400 miles, so I decided to get another pair of the same thing. They’re in purple for spring, so at least they look a little different.

These old guys served me well, pounding the pavement (and the muddy trails) for about 400 miles. About 30 miles ago, it was just like they gave out – my feet started to hurt, my legs got tired on runs that normally didn’t faze me. I started to question my training – what was I doing wrong to be so tired after a 4 mile run?!

Then I looked at my dirty, dirty, squished shoes.

Everyone wears their shoes differently, but the experts say 350-500 miles on a pair of running shoes is the approximate lifespan. For whatever reason, I’ve always been hard on shoes – non-running shoes included – and I could really feel that these running shoes were worn right the heck out.

Enter these beauties – I took them on a 17 mile run yesterday and they felt amazing! A world of difference! I really think it’s a good idea to stick with the same shoe for running – there’s almost no break in. I did run a few shorter run in my new shoes this week, to make sure they felt ok before I attempted a long run, but these shoes felt great immediately!

Tracking mileage is so helpful – of course for training purposes, but also for keeping track of when to replace shoes. Shoes are really the only equipment runners need (and barefoot runners don’t even need that!), so it’s worth it to get a good pair and replace them as needed. I can really feel the difference!

5 thoughts on “New Shoes Cure the Running Blues

  1. Lisa, I love your blog! Your posts are fantastic and make me laugh. I love running too, my sister and I started up a few months ago now and it makes a HUGE difference when your shoes are up to par. I have two pairs of runners, one pair is much newer however sometimes I grab whichever ones I see at the time and it’s much easier with my newer pair! Look forward to your next post.

    • You know, I’ve gone back and forth with running for years. I ran track and cross country in high school, but once I started college I only ran occasionally. I think a lot of the reason I didn’t stick with it is I held myself to really unrealistic standards, and therefore, if I missed a day or two, I would feel I’d blown it and kind of quit all together. This past year, I made goals to do races, and that has really helped keep me on track, as well as made it more fun – I feel like I’m working toward something, rather than just running to “be fit” in a really general way. I also have to remind myself that running is something I enjoy, and when it starts to feel like a chore, it’s usually because I don’t have the best mindset about it. I struggle with this, but keep reminding myself that ultimately running makes me feel good!

Leave a Reply

