Butternut Squash Pizza

Pizza is a popular dish around this house. It’s easy, fun, feeds a lot of people and is infinitely customizable.

This weekend I whipped up a butternut squash and onion pizza to take with us on a picnic. That’s right, a picnic. If you like cold pizza, it’s a really good option! Just slice it up, lay it flat in a big ziploc and plop it in the cooler. Or the wicker picnic basket, if that’s how you do things.

This was kind of a “leftover” pizza – I’d  made pizza for a dinner party earlier in the week (pizza is very versatile!) and saved a bit of dough in the fridge. You can see the recipe for the dough in an earlier post. The squash was leftover too – I had roasted it a few days before for enchilada making!

So I just stretched out the dough, and as you can see I did not achieve a perfect circle! Then I spooned a little Newman’s Own pasta sauce on top, added some chunks of mozzarella, and then layered on my roasted butternut squash and some raw red onions and just a few yellow pepper pieces. Into the oven, set to 450, for about 10 minutes.

A very quick way to feed 4 people while getting rid of leftovers. I LOVE using leftovers in new ways, but it’s definitely something I struggle with – lots of repeat meals!

Crispy crunchy crust, slightly sweet squash. Delicious onions. Sorry, I could think of any alliterative adjectives for the onions.

Make some dough!

5 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Pizza

  1. Yum! I never thought of squash on a pizza- I’m gonna try it! I’ll use the pizza dough recipe I just got from janaemonir.wordpress.com
    It’s like you two teamed up to offer me a fabulous pizza! Thanks!!

    • I really feel like you can put just about anything on a pizza – if it tastes good off a pizza, it will taste even better on a pizza! 🙂 And I just checked out Janae’s dough – I’m going to have to try it!

Leave a Reply

