French Toast Makes the Most of Leftovers

A day late, maybe, but this morning I decided to make a “special breakfast.”

Actually, never mind the day late thing – any day is a darn good day to make a delicious and special breaky.

I thought this breakfast up after my first alarm went off but before my second “for real” alarm sounded. That is a very special time, you know -between alarms. You can think of all sorts of things, such as why or why not you might want to get out of bed. The prospect of this delicious breakfast had me leaping out of bed.

French Toast. Can’t go wrong.

This recipe used up a lot of ingredients that needed to be used up -crusty bread, buttermilk. Very satisfying.

What  I had:

  • 4 thick pieces of 2 day old sourdough bread
  • 2 eggs
  • buttermilk
  • cinnamon
  • frozen strawberries
  • sugar
  • leftover cinnamon cream cheese frosting from yesterday’s red velvet cupcakes
  • powdered sugar
  • pecans

What I did:

Gleefully made myself an entire French press full of coffee.

Dumped a spoonful of sugar on some frozen strawberries and set aside.

Beat two eggs, added a big splash of buttermilk and several shakes of cinnamon. Dumped the egg mixture into a small casserole dish.

Sliced my bread.

Plunked my bread in the mix. Let it soak for a while. Flipped. Waited for my breakfast partner to wake up. Flipped again.

Then I lightly greased a nonstick pan and cooked my toasts!

I cooked the bread for just a moment or two, flipping when the bottom browned.

Easy, easy. And so good!

I topped my French toast with powdered sugar, the thawed and syrupy strawberries, chopped pecans, and a big dollop of leftover frosting from yesterday’s cupcakes. Super good. Super sweet. Used up some leftovers. All good things.

Start off special.

One thought on “French Toast Makes the Most of Leftovers

Leave a Reply

