Butternut Squash Enchiladas

I made these for lunch on Friday.

And then I made them for dinner on Saturday.

Variety is the spice of life and all, but sometimes you just want a darn good meal two days in a row. Nothing wrong with knowing what you like.

You can feed many or few with these enchiladas – just need to increase the amount of filling and make sure you have enough tortillas on hand. And the patience to roll up said tortillas.

I’ve patience in abundance, if you didn’t know.

That’s not true.

But everything else I’m going to tell you about these enchiladas? God’s honest truth.

They’re good.

Inspired by the enchiladas at Healthy Tipping Point.

What you need:

You need to know this isn’t a precise recipe with measurements and all that nonsense. Because I made these twice, I varied the amount I made. I eyeballed. I overestimated (one never knows when you’re feeding boys). So, maybe this isn’t very helpful. The first time I made these for 2 people, I used 5 tortillas. The second time, for 4 people, I made like 20 but there were leftovers. So trust your judgement.

  • tortillas (I used small corn tortillas)
  • butternut squash (1/2 a big squash for 2 people, 3/4 a big squash for 4 people)
  • salsa (I used regular for one recipe, salsa verde for another)
  • black beans
  • cheese (pick your favorite)
  • cumin
  • cayenne
  • salt and pepper
  • optional: in the second set of enchiladas, I added drained and pureed green chiles to the squash mix.
  • cilantro

What you do:

Peel and chop your butternut squash into chunks.

Roast chunks on a cookie sheet at 400 degrees for 1/2 hour or until soft.

Puree the soft squash, adding spices. Stir in beans and green chiles, if using.

Lightly grease a casserole dish.

Plop a healthy spoonful of butternut squash filling on a tortilla, roll up tortilla, and place in casserole dish seam side down.

Repeat until all the filling is all happily rolled up in the tortillas, and they are snuggled next to one another in the casserole.

Then coat the tops of the tortillas with salsa.

And don’t forget the cheese!

You wouldn’t do that, would you?

Poor cheese. Standing alone on the counter, nearly forgotten.

Just kidding. The cheese never gets forgotten in this house. Although, I think these would be very lovely with just the salsa. They are already packed with super flavor. Sometimes I pretend I want to be a vegan. Then I cure that feeling with some cheese.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.

Delicious! Garnish with cilantro.

Do it. Cilantro is good for you and makes your cheese coated food look healthier.

Good stuff. They were very popular with the fellas that live around here. And infinitely customizable.

A new go to meal!

3 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Enchiladas

  1. Pingback: Butternut Squash Pizza « Tomatoes in Love

Leave a Reply

