Chocolate Cherry Oatmeal Cookies

Yesterday was really satisfying.

I cooked a lot.

We had a conversation yesterday about having projects that we like to work on. I said I didn’t really have any – after all, I don’t knit, or garden, or build stuff (heavens no!). I don’t have an ongoing project at hand. I don’t have a tool shed. I don’t even scrapbook.

But then I was asked, “What about all the cooking?”

Well, what about it? We gotta eat!

But then I thought about it a little more, and thought about the time and the thought I put into preparing food. It’s not just to feed hungry mouths -when I cook I get to experiment. I learn new techniques (learning techniques being vastly more useful than learning individual recipes). I enjoy the time I spend cooking. I suppose cooking is an ongoing project after all -I am constantly learning and increasing my skills!

Hopefully.

Oatmeal Chocolate Cherry Cookies

Recipe adapted from Quaker Oats (under the lid on the oatmeal canister!)

What you need:

  • 1/2 cup + 6 tablespoons softened butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 2/3 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • dash salt
  • 3 cups oats
  • 1 cup dried cherries
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet)

What you need to do:

Ok, first off, I should tell you the truth: I accidentally added too much sugar to these cookies because I used the 1/3 cup measuring cup rather than the 1/4 cup (I know, what a goofball). The above recipe reflects the amounts I used, and the cookies turned out swell – I just added a little more flour for an all around slightly bigger recipe. I’m telling you this so you can see the proof that I am learning from my ongoing cooking project. The main skill I’ve acquired? Don’t freak out if you goof up. It’s usually fixable.

And too much sugar is very rarely a problem.

So, preheat your oven to 350. Pull out your one and only cookie sheet and wonder why you have such a pitiful looking cookie sheet. Resolve to buy more the next time you go to Target which may be never because for whatever reason Target seems very far away (though it’s not) and you can never get up the gumption to go even though they have a very fun escalator for shopping carts.

In your mixer, cream butter and all that sugar. Cream until creamy.

Add eggs and vanilla and continue to mix.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.

Slowly add flour mixture to sugar/butter mixture. Mix until combined.

Once combined stir in oats, dried cherries, and chocolate chips.

Cherries and chocolate are a GOOD COMBINATION.

Once all that goodness is combined, plop in rounded tablespoons onto your (pitiful) cookie sheet and bake for 11 minutes.

Feed these to people. They’re tasty. Chewy. Chocolate-y. Cherry-y. The Quaker Oats oatmeal cookie recipe is a lifelong favorite.

Even when I mess it up, it turns out tasty.

One thought on “Chocolate Cherry Oatmeal Cookies

Leave a Reply

