Roasted Pepper Hummus

Today, I made stuff.

I made food, that is.

I made food that boys like to eat.

Like veggie platters!

No, really. They ate it all up.

I ate the raw green beans. Couldn’t convince the boys the green beans were good.

Homemade hummus!

I roasted some peppers and added them to the hummus today. It was a good idea.

Here are my pretty peppers pre-roast:

To roast ’em, I put them on a metal baking sheet under my broiler set to low. I rotated them every few minutes so each side got brown and blistery. The little red guy was done first, and when I took him out I put him a ziploc bag to steam him. I did the same with the yellow dude once he was all brown and blistered too (sounds like pepper torture/murder -maybe I shouldn’t personify my vegetables). Anyway, after letting them steam in the ziploc until cool enough to handle, I just rubbed the skins right off with my hands and chopped up the tasty treats.

I added half of each pepper to a can of (drained) chickpeas, tahini, salt, pepper, olive oil and lemon juice and food processed the heck out of it. Oh, and a clove of garlic went in there too. I didn’t measure anything, so of course this isn’t a proper recipe, but you really can’t mess up hummus. Just blend it all up, taste, and then add more of whatever it is you think might make it taste better.

I shall never ever buy hummus at the store again. It is SO EASY to make and of course quite cheap and you can do what you want to do with it and be free and creative and who doesn’t like that? Who wants to be constrained by the supermarket brand? Be you! All you need to express your creativity is a food processor.

I made cookies too.

And then I took pictures of them on a ratty and wrinkled napkin.

Sorry. The cookies were good. I’ll tell you more about them later.

Hope you are all enjoying the Super Bowl. Or the Superb Owl, as the case may be.

One thought on “Roasted Pepper Hummus

Leave a Reply

