A Homeland Treat

So, yesterday I wrote a post for the Real Time Farms blog about rutabagas. You can see it here if you want. But today I’m going to tell you a little more about one of the recipes I made during rutabaga research.

The pasty.

Believe me, you want to know about this.

Or perhaps I’m blinded by regional pride and fond memories of childhood. Sorry.

If you want to learn more about the history of pasties, read this wikipedia article. It’s very informative.

I made a very plain, meat-free pasty, and I’m going to share the recipe with you, but I’m excited to try variations in the future, adding different veggies, maybe cheese, herbs. Lots of possibilities.

But here’s the classic. Adapted from here.

What you need (baby, you know I got it):

  • 2 carrots
  • 3 small potatoes or 2 large
  • 1 rutabaga
  • 1/2 onion
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup shortening
  • 1/2 cup cold water

What goes on:

First make your dough. Fear not. I, who cry over pie crusts, made this dough successfully with only minor rips.

In a mixing bowl, combine flour and shortening with a pinch of salt and mix together till resembles coarse crumbs. You can use forks, knives, hands, pastry cutter, what have you.

Add in cold water and combine further, rolling into a ball. Still the mixing bowl with the ball of dough into the fridge.

While that’s chilling, chop your vegetables. Chop them pretty small, so they cook evenly and quickly.

Toss them in some salt and pepper.

Now, take out your chilled dough. 1/2 hour is fine amount of chillin’ time.

I made 5 small pasties with this recipe. You could maybe make 3 large ones. It’s up to you. I like small little bundles of food, but do what feels right.

So, separate your dough into how ever many small balls of dough.

On a well floured surface, with a well floured rolling pin, roll out your balls of dough. I found it easier to squish them with my hand first, and then roll. The crust doesn’t have to be super thin and if it tears, just patch it up. Don’t you tear up over it.

Once you’ve rolled out a rough circle of dough, fill one half of it with a handful of veggies and then fold the other half over, crimping the edges with fingers or a fork.

Repeat and then use a spatula to transfer your dough pockets onto a greased baking sheet.

Bake for 65-75 minutes, checking the brownness of the bottom at about 60 minutes.

Serve warm with ketchup! That’s the traditional way to do it. So fancy, I know.

Anyway, this is super easy, pretty darn fun, hearty and tasty and you can get creative.

Enjoy.

7 thoughts on “A Homeland Treat

  1. Lisa! This is great! I’m going to make it! AND I loved reading this… almost like having you right here with me. Glad to see you haven’t missed your calling! Come cook with me any day! Love you!

  2. As soon as I saw the word pasty I knew there must be a Michigan connection. They sell pasties at the General Store on Old Mission Peninsula, one of my favorite places in the world (next to Italy). My husband is a Michigander/Michiganian and we go up there every summer. Lovely post!

  3. While reading this I got pretty excited about the prospect of homemade pasties. Tasty bits of deliciousness wrapped in a pastry wrapper – what’s not to like?

    I made the pasties and had a couple friends over for dinner this weekend. Half vegetarian and half with meat. I liked the meat ones best, but they all were delicious. Served with ketchup as recommended, they made a perfect casual dinner on a snowy evening.

    I may be influenced by familial and regional pride (even though I’m not an authentic Yooper), but I thought these were great! And you are too!

  4. Well Bruce’s Finish grandma, from Bruce Crossing Michigan, made the first pasties I ever ate way back in 1972 and they were great. But Zelpha made the best pasties. She used lard in her dough and sometimes made them with venison. Where do you get lard?

Leave a Reply

