A Good Start to the Day

I love oatmeal. Oats have some nice memories attached – my Dad used to make me oatmeal all the time when I lived at home. Often we were the first two up and I would slouch in one of the barrel chairs by the window while he prepared oats in the kitchen. We would chat about what the day would bring. Now when I go home to visit, he still makes me oatmeal in the morning. I appreciate those oats and that time.

I also love oatmeal because it’s hot, and nothing is better than a hot breakfast on a cold day!

It was cold this morning.

Oats, topped with soy milk, homemade almond butter, chia seeds, a sprinkling of brown sugar and pears.

Good stuff.

Washed down with some strong black coffee.

I firmly believe oatmeal is the best way to start the day.

7 thoughts on “A Good Start to the Day

  1. Pingback: Hey, Dad « Tomatoes in Love

Leave a Reply

