Home Alone Soup

I’m back in Seattle.

Home alone, as G won’t arrive for another few days.

It’s a little weird. What with all the family time, I don’t think I’ve been alone for more than a few hours for the past month.

When I’m home alone I go a little nutty. I do a lot of yoga. I drink a lot of tea.

I’m drinking tea right now.

I also eat the same thing for every meal because why not.

This week, my meal is soup. Root vegetable soup.

Here’s what’s in it:

  • 2 boxes of low sodium vegetable broth
  • 2 carrots, unpeeled
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1 white onion
  • 1 rutabaga
  • 1 turnip
  • 3 parsnips
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • cayenne
  • turmeric
  • salt and pepper

Dice up  carrot, celery and onion and cook in a tiny amount of olive oil.

After 5 minutes of cooking, add broth and bring to a simmer.

Chop remaining vegetables into bite-sized chunks and add to broth.

Simmer, adding salt, pepper, turmeric, and cayenne to taste.

Eat.

Feel warm and happy inside.

I love soup. So easy to make. So easy to fill with delicious healthy vegetables. So easy to store. So easy to reheat.

2 thoughts on “Home Alone Soup

  1. Happy New Year Lisa….love your blog and I will try this soup this weekend. Do root veggies have more calories and sugar? I must look that up.

    Enjoy your runs and yoga and stay healthy and happy. I’ll try a walk and yoga.

Leave a Reply

