Sunny Tubers

What the heck is this?

Lunch, that’s what!

It’s a sunchoke, which are also sometimes called jerusalem artichokes. I’m doing more food research today.

I have never cooked with sunchokes before, but the kitchen is a place of experimentation, right?

Right.

So I chopped up my ‘choke along with a variety of potatoes. I pulled my olive oil out of the cupboard. Then I promptly dropped the glass olive oil bottle on the granite countertop. It shattered.

Oil everywhere.

I ate a cookie.

And then I cleaned up the terrific mess. Gross. My hands feel very soft and smooth now, however.

Back to my sunchokes. With no olive oil remaining, I lightly tossed my sunchokes and potatoes in regular light vegetable oil, salt and pepper. Spread them out on a greased baking sheet and baked them for 30 minutes in a 400 degree oven.

They look delicious.

Now, my love of potatoes is well known. And these darn sunchokes were a WONDERFUL addition to my favorite food! A slightly different texture, with a bit more chewy skin and a distinctive earthy flavor, I really liked these a lot.

It’s really fun to try new food. And sunchokes are high in iron and fiber, so it’s extra fun to find cool healthy new foods.

One thought on “Sunny Tubers

  1. It’s fate! You say in your “fall in the dark” post that you’re good at demolishing dishware, and you proved it! I like your cookie-eating solution to disaster.

Leave a Reply

