Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Everything I need to know these days, I learn on Twitter.

It’s totally true! Breaking news stories? Twitter. Local food facts for work? Twitter. Deals in Seattle? Twitter. What to cook next? Twitter.

And sometimes Facebook.

I first heard tell of these cookies on Twitter, from a friend whose cookie judgement I trust. Then the recipe was shared on Facebook by another friend whose cookie judgement is likewise reliable. I really can’t think of too many people I know with faulty cookie judgement, come to think of it. Don’t surround myself with a bad cookie crowd.

Anyway, the original recipe comes from Make and Takes. I made some modifications. The original calls for butterscotch chips, which I didn’t have. Because my baking pantry is never fully stocked. You’re never fully stocked without an assortment of candy chips. Or a smile.

So, we have Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies, because ’tis the season for pumpkin and ’tis always the season for chocolate.

Here’s what you need.

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour (speaking of not being properly stocked, I had to use bread flour for the 1/4 cup because I ran out of all-purpose. Turned out just fine, but don’t do this. Get all-purpose.)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (I didn’t have any vanilla. But you should use it!)
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 3 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 3/4 cups chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

Now, when I moved to Seattle, I either sold a lot of my cooking gear at a yard sale or left it at my parents’ house. This means I have no mixing bowls. Baking usually requires 2 bowls -one to mix your dry ingredients, another to mix the wet ingredients. I have a KitchenAid mixer -so the bowl of that is where I mix my wet ingredients, but what to do with my flour and baking soda?

Mason jar to the rescue!

I bought 12 of these the other day. They’re great for storing things, using as vases, and mixing up my dry ingredients!

Measure flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg into a wide mouthed Mason jar. Shake it until mixed.

Shake shake shake your sillies out.

Once you’ve mixed your dry ingredients, get rolling with the sugar and butter. Measure sugar and brown sugar into the bowl of your mixer along with butter chopped into chunks.

In goes the sugar.

And more sugar.

Beat sugar and butter together until creamy.

Add an egg (and vanilla, if you’re not lame).

Mix some more.

Now add the pumpkin and mix until combined.

It will be soupy.

Slowly add the flour mixture from the mason jar. Another perk of the mason jar method is it makes it easy to pour into the stand mixer’s bowl while the mixer is running. No flying flour!

Now, your dough will still be soupy. That’s ok.

Because now you add 3 cups of oats! You can just stir in the oats with a spoon.

Also, stir in your chocolate chips. I used milk chocolate chips.

That’s the cookie dough! And that’s a bowl of gourds in the background.

Now, this is a little weird. I greased the cookie sheet I baked these on. Often, you don’t have to do this because the cookies have enough oil/butter in them to keep them from sticking. But these are mostly pumpkin. So I Pammed the sheet. You could also line the baking sheet with parchment paper. But guess what? I didn’t have any of that either.

I’m telling you this so you know that you can make delicious cookies and impress your friends and family even if you are woefully unprepared.

Or maybe my friends are just too nice.

Hm.

No, they’re not. These cookies are just that good.

Ok, so you’ve lightly greased your baking sheet. Plop slightly-bigger-than-tablespoon-sized bits of cookie dough onto your cookie sheet.

Bake for 10 minutes.

Remove from the oven and let sit for 2 minutes. The cookies won’t come off the sheet nicely unless you let them sit.

Repeat! I didn’t regrease my  cookie sheet and all went well.

These are some seriously soft cookies.

You can eat them for breakfast! I just did.

Now I have to go consult Twitter to see what else I need to do today.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Glad you liked them! I made them with the butterscotch chips, and they blew my mind. Two people told me they were the best cookies they’d ever had, and I’m only married to one of those people.

    Like you, I thought it was weird that cookie sheet greasing was called for. I thought, “surely that’s not actually necessary” and didn’t do it….and as you say, things turned out fine. On one cookie sheet things got a bit crusty, but the newer, shinier one was no problem.

    • Yep they were super good -thanks for the recipe! They are also nearly gone. I decided they were healthy -all those oats! So I’ve been eating them for breakfast.

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Cranberry Bread « Tomatoes in Love

Leave a Reply

